CofC Logo

Advisor of the Year

This award recognizes the faculty or staff advisor who has consistently demonstrated a commitment to student development and leadership practice while fostering such growth in students. Advisors are nominated by their student organizations. The nominees must be College of Charleston employees who currently serve as the official advisor for a student organization.

2018: Rachael McNamera, Cougar Counseling Team

2017: Dave McDonough, Pi Kappa Alpha

2016: Charlane Dwight, Safe Campus Outreach Prevention and Education Peer Team (S.C.O.P.E.)

2015: Dr. Kate Pfile, Student Sports Medicine Association

2014: Susan Oakes, Charleston 40

2013: Dr. Adam Doughty, Best Buddies Organization

2012: Dr. Kevin Keenan, Political Science Club

2011: Marcia Synder, School of Business Dean's Student Forum

2010: Adam Doughty, Best Buddies

2009: John Creed, Americans for an Informed Democracy

2008: Alan Strand, Biology Club